End of A Year

January 22, 2007

 

So, if I wasn’t feeling so old today (and I was actually ten years younger) I might want to be in this band.

Admittedly, I haven’t been paying close attention to the hardcore scene these days, and the younger bands I do hear, sneak their radio-friendly picture-perfect emo-core in on the music television. Sure, “Sugar, We’re Goin Down” is a guilty pleasure in line with my past fascination with Jimmy Eat World’s Clarity (a much better record than their mainstream breakthrough), but hell, even back then I could tell it reeked a little bit of the fat man’s candy.

So in the context of today’s rock music, it’s both surprising and heartening to hear a band like End of A Year. I’d be the first to say, they aren’t doing anything that hasn’t been done before: they sound a bit like an updated version of songs from the Rites of Spring and Embrace era harDCore scene.

But the greatest thing about this band is what they aren’t doing. (And I think we all know what that is.) So, if you see them on Laguna Beach, you can kick their asses for me. Until then, I would break out the skateboard (I’m trying hard not to break a hip) and check out their latest record, Sincerely.

Listen: Beleaders from a split 7″ on Slave Union Records. Their song “Midwest” from their most recent album, Sincerely, streams on their myspace and the Revelation Records page.

They will be in Brooklyn on February 18, prior to a tour of Europe.

http://www.myspace.com/endofayear

Leave a Reply

