Cansei De Ser Sexy

February 26, 2007

Cansei De Ser Sexy win. Their hybrid-cover of Sleater-Kinney’s “I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone” and “Jenny From the Block” is full-on awesome. (As if the L7 cover wasn’t enough.) It’s just as clever as Ted Leo’s cover of “Since U Been Gone” from a little while back, but with better production.

CCS (which is Portuguese for “Tired of Being Sexy”) had found a stateside home at Sub Pop Records sometime last year, and I’d be the first to admit, that I just didn’t get it. But now I do. I will never doubt the Pacific Northwest gods again.

Listen: “I Wanna Be Your J. Lo“, “Pretend We’re Dead“.

Let’s Make Love and Listen to Death From Above” is available from Sub Pop Records.

And lest you forget: Ted Leo’s version of “Since U Been Gone

One Response to “Cansei De Ser Sexy”


  1. […] 3. I wanna be your JLO (CSS) gefunden bei Ask Me About My Invisible Friends […]


Leave a Reply

