PJ Harvey

February 21, 2011

PJ Harvey’s eighth record, Let England Shake, is out now. Hallelujah. It’s an eerily beautiful rumination on a world at war written over the last several years, reflecting both our current and past bloodied status as a civilization at large. One might file it under the category of an important work from an important artist. (Just a guess.)

Once again, Harvey is accompanied by her long-time compatriots John Parish and Mick Harvey, but on the record Harvey finds a new voice and affinity for autoharp among other things, which makes the record stand out from much of her already extraordinary catalogue. Listen and be moved.

Watch: “Let England Shake”

Watch: “The Words That Maketh Murder”


One Response to “PJ Harvey”

  1. Carley Says:

    What’s up, always i used to check weblog posts here in the early hours in the dawn, since i love to
    learn more and more.

Leave a Reply to Carley Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s